Why I Love Fall

As I write this, on Tuesday, the forecast for this weekend is a bit cooler with a good chance of rain. So as you are reading this, I pray it is to the sight and sound of rain falling outside your window. I love fall. It is my favorite time of the year. Football is in full swing. October brings candy corn and great, old black & white “horror” movies on t.v. I’m not a fan of the slasher movies of the last few decades. I prefer my scary movies with Hitchcock, Karloff or Lugosi. A misty ambience beats guts & gore in my opinion.

Then in November we have the time change, when we set our clocks back an hour (November 3rd this year, in case you’re wondering). I welcome the time change both in the spring and fall. In the spring setting our clocks forward ushers in longer days to enjoy the outside a bit longer. In the fall, eating supper with the people you love when it’s already getting dark outside just seems cozier to me.

Then comes the greatest holiday of all, Thanksgiving. It was my dad’s favorite holiday. I’m sure that’s one reason it is my favorite as well. A time when we acknowledge our God as the giver of all good things (James 1:17).

Do you love fall? Feel free to share your thoughts.

Brad Fry

Published in: on September 24, 2013 at 2:11 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://texasfryed.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/why-i-love-fall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do love fall. The cool breezes, the changing of the leaves and the excitement of the holidays to come. Even more so, we love getting together with good friends like the Frys and enjoying good food and conversation.
    Love y’all!
    Temples

  2. Welcome back dear friend! I am with you. I adore fall. It is the respit for the horrible heat we endure each year. It’s like the oasis from it all. I love when that touch do fall creeps in little by little. This made my evening. Thanks so much for sharing! By the by, totally agree with the old scary monies! Hunter and I can’t wait! Love you Brad.

  3. And we love those times with the Temples too.

    Love you Casey Jill.


Leave a Reply

